Looking for better tomorrow

First round of the Cairns GC championships today. Lots of run on the course with good lies everywhere. It may be my imagination but the greens seemed a little too bumpy to be running as quickly as they are. The greens also seem to be firming up and demanding well struck shots to hold the ball near to where it lands. Then again maybe I just had a bad day and a five hour round.

86 against par 72. Many shots and putts where my post shot routine started with bewilderment at the bizarre shot I’d just played. Lots of bearing down to find a feel for my weight shift and plenty of focus on club head path and basic ball striking.

I like to look back to find the highlights. A nice hybrid into the breeze to about thirty feet on the 10th (365m). Up and down out of the bunker for par on the 11th (151m). 8I to about 5 feet on the 14th (328m). Nice hybrid to about thirty feet on the 15th (404m). Nice 9I about thirty feet behind the hole on the 1st (278m). Nice finesse shot from left rough near the green to about a foot on the 3rd (348m). Nice hybrid into the breeze to about thirty feet on the 4th (385m). Nice 8I on the 9th (364m) from a flier lie and a big hop to the rear of the green on landing. A great lag putt down the very slippery slope to about two feet followed by a perfect putt right into the middle of the cup to finish.

No birdies. Only six greens in regulation. Looking for better in the second round tomorrow.

First posted on iSeekGolf.com

Leave a comment